Skip to main content

Indian GP - Not as spicy as expected


New track, exciting layout, great corners, dusty - on paper, the shiny new Indian GP should have been a belter.

Initial jitters and teething problems (multiple power failures, commentary boxes with no windows, dog caused red flagging of FP1) happily melted away in the 30C sunshine, but at least one thing was constant - Hamilton was in trouble with the F1 fuzz yet again, failing to slow down while yellow flags were being enthusiastically waved during practice, netting him a 3 place grid penalty, along with Perez. For Lewis, 2nd in quali became 5th on the grid, leaving a Red Bull lockout at the front, with Seb on pole again, followed by Webber, Alonso and Button.

Vettel scampered off at the start - that's all you really need to know about his race, as no-one got ahead of him for the duration. Jenson tried hard (as usual), but never got the gap down enough to mount a challenge.

Jenson passed Webber after the first few corners, whilst multiple shunts occurred down the cheaper end of the field. As Seb pulled gently away, Jenson struggled to keep the win-free Aussie behind. The pattern stayed the same for a fair while, until Lap 24....

Hamilton and Massa resumed their Hate/Hate relationship, as Felipe slammed the door shut on Lewis's attempt to pass, sending both drivers off-track, and removing expensive aero parts. A little surprisingly, the angry Brazilian was the one to get a penalty this time, ensuring that the air of mutual disrespect continues as the end of the season approaches.

Buemi was doing well and heading for a points finish when his Toro Rosso conked out, leaving body language interpreters with an easy job of figuring out how he felt. I though he was about to find a branch and launch into a Basil Fawlty vehicle thrashing impersonation. Good to see some enthusiasm, eh?

Massa's yet-another-crap day continued when his front wing appeared to have been manufactured from the same plastic you find surrounding biscuits in a Christmas selection box, so violently did it flex. Still, it didn't matter - he then made the same error he did in quali, and went so far over one of the kerbs, his wheel entered a different time zone, and his suspension collapsed faster than my diet when faced with a Creme Egg.

Concerns over the speed of the hard tyre had been put to rest by the time JB tried a sneaky undercut on lap 47, but Red Bull were once again flawless, bringing Herr Pointyfinger in straight away.

The Merc boys provided some light relief in the last 10 laps, as Schumi and Britney raced each other, but nothing much came of it.

Which is pretty much how you'd describe the whole race, really. A simple victory for Seb, a great drive by Jenson, respectable finishes for Alonso and Webber, and Massa and Hamilton contesting the same piece of track again. Ah well. Maybe next year, eh?

Red Bull and Vettel busted some more records for good measure too - Most poles in a season, equalling the most poles by one driver, and beating Mansell's record of most laps led in a season.

At least McLaren has the satisfaction of securing second in the championship.

The final word must go to Eddie Jordan though, who was in fine, baffling, form this weekend: "Every door I open is poised with problems".

Thanks, EJ. Couldn't have said it better myself.

(Still listening to that Joan Armatrading best of. I'm Lucky.)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Fantasy Formula 1 - Hungary Results

Sometimes there's a wonderful "huh?" moment in F1. Today's was when the lights didn't go to red at the start, but flashed green and yellow. I'm sure all the drivers are briefed, and everyone knows the drill, but they all just sat there - no-one wanted to be the first to move. In the most high-tech sport in the world, it took Charlie Whiting waving at them to make them go. To be honest, it wasn't the most thrilling of races, but Happy Hamilton "The slow boys won't get out of my way! It's not fair! Boohoohooo - I'm telling Charlie!" winning does mean the front end of the points table still looks deliciously tight. What we really need now, as the excitement level ramps up, is.... to take 5 weeks off. Dammit. Still, to keep you occupied, I want you to memorise the points you all scored today. It's easy to remember mine. I came last... RACE RESULT Position Name Point...

Faking it for real

As Donald “I’m really great, everybody says so” Trump is so fond of pointing out, there is a lot of fake news around nowadays. Honest. Your friends at Facebook think so too, and have recently been publishing their top tips for spotting false news – by placing them as ads in newspapers. Considering they came in for considerable criticism themselves, that’s like shouting “Squirrel!” and pointing at a tree whilst you hastily kick away the prize begonias you just trampled. To help you make sense of this (and because I’m a caring person), I thought I’d run you through their suggestions and help to explain them for you. I know. I’m lovely. 1. Be sceptical of headlines READING THIS ARTICLE WILL IMPROVE YOUR SEX LIFE!!! And explain that catchy headlines, or stuff all in capitals might be a bit iffy. 2. Look closely at the URL You can find out more about this at www.wowyouregullible.com if you want to understand how phony web addresses are a sure sign of dodgyness. 3. Investigate...

Welcome to Costa del Barrow

Feel that sudden chill in the air? It’s winter, heading this way. Or you’ve left the fridge door open. One of those, definitely. According to people with the word ‘meteorologist’ somewhere in their job title, it has been the driest September since records began. Hardly surprising, really – the wettest winter on record immediately beforehand almost certainly used up all the available rain in the sky early (Note to self: check the sciencey stuff, it doesn’t sound quite right). With just 20% of the normal rainfall of the most Septembery of months, 2014 trounced the previous record holder, good old 1959. Whilst this may have led to less plump courgettes, and parched blue tits mugging you for your bottle of mineral water, it does have a beneficial side-effect: Your granddad will finally have to stop saying “Dry? You don’t know what dry is! When I were but a lad...” Clearly disappointing for grandpops, especially so soon after the “Wet winter? Pah! When I were but a lad...” sto...